ICD-11 classes
11 Diseases of the circulatory system
Hypertensive diseases

ICD-11 Hypertensive diseases

Although a continuous association exists between higher BP and increased cardiovascular disease risk, it is useful to categorize BP levels for clinical and public health decision making. Recent guidelines categorise systemic hypertension into 4 levels on the basis of average BP measured in a healthcare setting (office pressures):• Normal: systolic BP

The diagnosis includes nothing.

It excludes 4 items.

  • Pulmonary hypertension (BB01)
  • involving coronary vessels (BA40-BA6Z)
  • Oedema, proteinuria, or hypertensive disorders in pregnancy, childbirth, or the puerperium (JA20-JA2Z)
  • White coat hypertension (MC80.00)

Diagnosis contains 6 clarifying diagnoses:

  1. BA00 — Essential hypertension
    It contains 6 clarifying diagnoses.
  2. BA01 — Hypertensive heart disease
    It contains 2 clarifying diagnoses.
  3. BA02 — Hypertensive renal disease
    It contains 2 clarifying diagnoses.
  4. BA03 — Hypertensive crisis
  5. BA04 — Secondary hypertension
    It contains 8 clarifying diagnoses.
  6. KB45 — Neonatal hypertension

The diagnosis is included in 1 another class.

  • Neonatal hypertension (KB45)

Search results