ICD-11 classes
13 Diseases of the digestive system
Functional gastrointestinal disorders

ICD-11 Functional gastrointestinal disorders

Functional gastrointestinal disorder (FGID) is used to define several variable combinations of chronic or recurrent gastrointestinal (GI) symptoms that do not have an identified underlying pathophysiology, and that occur in the absence of underlying structural abnormalities. FGID may include a number of separate idiopathic disorders which affect different part of the gastrointestinal tract. FGID are the most common problem in gastroenterological practice. The Rome process has helped to define the functional gastrointestinal disorders.

The diagnosis includes nothing.

It excludes 3 items.

  • Bodily distress disorder (6C20)
  • Hypochondriasis (6B23)
  • Symptoms, signs or clinical findings, not elsewhere classified (MA00-MH2Y)

Diagnosis contains 8 clarifying diagnoses:

  1. DD90 — Functional oesophageal or gastroduodenal disorders
    It contains 9 clarifying diagnoses.
  2. DD91 — Irritable bowel syndrome or certain specified functional bowel disorders
    It contains 7 clarifying diagnoses.
  3. DD92 — Functional anorectal disorders
    It contains 5 clarifying diagnoses.
  4. DD93 — Functional digestive disorders of infants, toddlers or children
    It contains 5 clarifying diagnoses.
  5. DD94 — Functional gallbladder disorder
  6. DD95 — Functional sphincter of Oddi disorder
  7. DD9Y — Other specified functional gastrointestinal disorders
  8. DD9Z — Functional gastrointestinal disorders, unspecified

Search results